Edward S. Evans Trophy

This was the original National Championship trophy, presented by Edward S. Evans, early patron of soaring and founder of the National Glider Association, under whose auspices the first two National Soaring Contests (1930 and 1931) were held.   The Evans Trophy became the permanent property of John Robinson in 1946 when he won the National Championship three successive times.

The Richard C. duPont Memorial Trophy succeeded the Evans Trophy in 1947 as the U.S. National Soaring Champions Award.

? Return to the SSA Awards Table of Contents?

Please contact John Leibacher with any suggestions concerning this material.
Page last updated on

Hosted by Dr. Günther Eichhorn